Stay

Places to Stay along St. Declan’s Way. Please note, none of these are recommended by St. Declan’s Way, they are merely provided for the convenience of those wishing to walk the path. Walkers will need to make their own investigations as to whether any accommodation suits their purposes. If you have accommodation along the route and wish to have it listed please send an email to [email protected].

This accommodation list presumes travelling from Cashel to Ardmore, which is recommended, as the stages become more interesting as they head over the Knockmealdown Mountains into Waterford. The five natural approximately 20km long stages along this route are:

Stage 1: Cashel to Cahir; Stage 2: Cahir to Goatenbridge; Stage 3: Goatenbridge to Lismore; Stage 4: Lismore to Aglish; Stage 5: Aglish to Ardmore.

Co. Tipperary:

First Stage – Cashel to Cahir 

Cashel

Bailey’s Hotel – baileyshotelcashel.com

Cashel Town B&B – cashelbandb.com

Cashel Hostel – cashelhostel.com

Rockville House B&B – rockvillehousebb.com

Ashmore House B&B – ashmorehouse.ie

Cahir

In Cahir town:

Cahir House Hotel – cahirhousehotel.ie

Tinsley House – www.tinsleyhouse.com

Carigeen Castle B&B – carrigeencastle.com

Outside the town:

Castle Gardens – castlegardensbnb.com 

Hollymount House – hollymounthouse.ie

Kilcoran Lodge Hotel – kilcoranlodge.net

 

Second Stage – Cahir to Goatenbridge           

Goatenbridge

There is no accommodation in Goatenbridge itself. These are the closest:

Newcastle/Ballymacarbry

Kilmaneen Farmhouse – www.kilmaneen.com

Glasha Farmhouse – www.glashafarmhouse.com

Clogheen

The Sallows Hostel – www.thesallows.ie

The Old Convent – www.theoldconvent.ie.

_____

Co. Waterford:

Third Stage – Goatenbridge to Lismore – Note: This stage crosses the Knockmealdown Mountains and will require a modicum of fitness. It is also longer than 20km (about 24km). All the other stages are relatively flat and shorter than this.   

Mount Melleray

The Pilgrims Rest – www.thepilgrimsrest.com

Mount Melleray Abbey Guest House – www.mountmellerayabbey.org/guesthouse

Lismore

Ballyrafter House Hotel – ballyrafterhouse.com   

Cappoquin

Richmond House – richmondhouse.net

 

Fourth Stage –Lismore to Aglish 

Close to Aglish 

Wing Old School House – www.airbnb.ie/rooms/3244240

Jacks Cottage – www.airbnb.co.uk/rooms/266017

 

Fifth Stage –Aglish to Ardmore 

Ardmore

Round Tower Hotel – www.roundtowerhotel.ie

Cliff House Hotel – cliffhousehotel.ie

Sea Pearl BnB – www.booking.com/hotel/ie/sea-pearl.html

Ardmore BnB – ardmorebedandbreakfast.ie

Newtown Farm Country House – www.newtownfarm.com

Comments are closed.