Stay

Places to Stay along St. Declan’s Way. Please note, none of these are recommended by St. Declan’s Way, they are merely provided for the convenience of those wishing to walk the path. Walkers will need to make their own investigations as to whether any accommodation suits their purposes. If you have accommodation along the route and wish to have it listed please send an email to [email protected]. For those ringing from abroad you will need to add 00353 to the start of the phone numbers and drop the initial 0. 

This accommodation list presumes travelling from Cashel to Ardmore, which is recommended, as the stages become more interesting as they head over the Knockmealdown Mountains into Waterford. The five natural approximately 20km long stages along this route are:

Stage 1: Cashel to Cahir; Stage 2: Cahir to Goatenbridge; Stage 3: Goatenbridge to Lismore; Stage 4: Lismore to Aglish; Stage 5: Aglish to Ardmore.

Co. Tipperary:Rock of Cashel

First Stage – Cashel to Cahir

Cashel

Aulber House – www.aulberhouse.com – 062 63713

Bailey’s Hotel – baileyshotelcashel.com – 062-61937

Cashel Holiday Hostel – 062 62330

Cashel Palace Hotel – www.cashelpalacehotel.ie – 062 62002

Copperfield House B&B – www.copperfieldhouse.ie – 062-61075

Rockville House B&B – www.rockville.tripcombined.com – 062-61760

Caravan & Camping:

O’Briens Holiday Lodge & Camping Park – www.cashel-lodge.com – 062 61003

Cahir

In Cahir town:

Cahir House Hotel – cahirhousehotel.ie –  052 744 3000

Carigeen Castle B&B – carrigeencastle.com – 052 744 1370

Tinsley House – www.tinsleyhouse.com – 052 744 1947

Outside the town:

Hollymount House – hollymounthouse.ie – 052 744 2888

Kilcommon Cross – Annaswood B&B – https://bit.ly/3xReyGt – 086 825 3236

Kilcoran Lodge Hotel – kilcoranlodge.net – 052 744 1288

Caravan & Camping:

The Apple Farm – www.theapplefarm.com – 052 744 1459

 

Second Stage – Cahir to Goatenbridge via Ardfinnan           

GoatenbridgeKnockmealdowns from Lady's Abbey

The Log Cabin – AirB&B Listing

Close to Goatenbridge:

Newcastle/Ballymacarbry

Glasha Farmhouse – www.glashafarmhouse.com – 052 613 6108

Clogheen

Ballyboy House – 052 746 5297

The Old Convent – www.theoldconvent.ie – 052 746 5565

The Sallows Hostel – www.thesallows.ie – 052 746 5700 – Note: Only caters for groups of 6 or more staying for more than 2 nights.

Caravan & Camping:

Parson’s Green Caravan & Camping – www.clogheen.com – 052 746 5290

Nire Valley Eco Camp – www.nirevalleyecocamp.com – 087 0618879

Nire Valley Glamping – www.nirevalleyglamping.com – 083 8018774

_____

Co. Waterford:

Third Stage – Goatenbridge to Lismore – Note: This stage crosses the Knockmealdown Mountains and will require a modicum of fitness. It is also longer than 20km (almost 30km). All the other stages are relatively flat and shorter than this.   

Mount Melleray

The Pilgrims Rest – www.thepilgrimsrest.com – 058 52917

St. Declan’s Hostel – www.stdeclanshostel.ie – 058 54404

Lismore

Ballyrafter House Hotel – ballyrafterhouse.com – 058 54002

Fort William Estate – www.fortwilliamfishing.ie – 058-54251

Glencairn Abbey – www.glencairnabbey.org – 058-56168

Glencairn B&B & Self Catering – 058 54139

Lismore Castle – www.lismorecastle.com – 058 54424

 

Fourth Stage –Lismore to Aglish 

Cappoquin

The Toby Jug – [email protected] – 058-52333

Outside the town:

Dromana House – www.dromanahouse.com – 024-96144

Richmond House – richmondhouse.net – 058 54278

Salterbridge Gate Lodge – www.irishlandmark.com – 01-6704733

 

Villierstown

Blackwater Eco Pods – www.blackwaterecotours.ie – 024 86491

Close to Aglish 

1 Bed Cottage – AirBnB Listing – 087 703 7967

Kilcormac Stud B&B – coolcormack-stud-bb.business.site – 087 206 8392

Wing Old School House – www.airbnb.ie/rooms/3244240

 

Fifth Stage –Aglish to Ardmore 

Ardmore

Applehouse Apartment – https://bit.ly/3xMAYJ2 – 087 744 9705

Ardmore BnB –ardmorebedandbreakfast.ie – 085 858 6103

Ardmore Holiday Homes – www.ardmoreholidayhomes.com

Cliff House Hotel – cliffhousehotel.ie – 024 87800

Duncrone Bed & Breakfast – 024 94860

Fountain House – 024 94256

Newtown Farm Country House – www.newtownfarm.com – 024 94143

Round Tower Hotel – www.roundtowerhotel.ie – 024 94494

Caravan & Camping:

Ardmore Glamping Pods – ardmoreglampingpods.ie – 024 87600

Ardmore Seaview Motorhome Park – 087 709 3346

Beach Caravan Park – 024 94938

Curragh Caravan Site – 087 245 2549

Powers Caravan Park – 087 223 0264

Youghal, just across the bay from Ardmore (15 minute drive)

Abbey View B&B – https://bit.ly/35YI9lk – 024 92298

Ahernes – www.ahernes.net – 024 92424

Avonmore House B&B – avonmorehouse.com – 024 92617

Old Imperial Hotel – www.theoldimperialhotel.com – 024 92435

Summerfield Lodge B&B – www.summerfieldlodgeyoughal.ie – 087 285 4971

Walter Raleigh Hotel – walterraleighhotel.com – 024 92011

 

Dungarvan – 20km north of Ardmore (20 minute drive)

Lawlors Hotel – www.lawlorshotel.com – 058 41000

Park Hotel – www.parkhoteldungarvan.com – 058 42899

Tannery Town House – tannery.ie – 058 45420

Comments are closed.