Stay

Places to Stay along St. Declan’s Way. Please note, none of these are recommended by St. Declan’s Way, they are merely provided for the convenience of those wishing to walk the path. Walkers will need to make their own investigations as to whether any accommodation suits their purposes. If you have accommodation along the route and wish to have it listed please send an email to info@StDeclansWay.ie. For those ringing from abroad you will need to add 00353 to the start of the phone numbers and drop the initial 0. 

This accommodation list presumes travelling from Cashel to Ardmore, which is recommended, as the stages become more interesting as they head over the Knockmealdown Mountains into Waterford. The five natural approximately 20km long stages along this route are:

Stage 1: Cashel to Cahir; Stage 2: Cahir to Goatenbridge; Stage 3: Goatenbridge to Lismore; Stage 4: Lismore to Aglish; Stage 5: Aglish to Ardmore.

Stage 3 is quite long, about 30km, and the first part is mountainous, so you may wish to split it into two: Goatenbridge to Mount Melleray (18km) and Mount Melleray to Lismore (12km).

The St. Declan’s Way route is indicated on the maps by a red line. 

Co. Tipperary:

Cashel to Cahir

Cashel

Aulber House – www.aulberhouse.com – 062 63713

Rock of Cashel

Bailey’s Hotel – baileyshotelcashel.com – 062-61937

Cashel Holiday Hostel – 062 62330

Cashel Palace Hotel – www.cashelpalacehotel.ie – 062 62002

Copperfield House B&B – www.copperfieldhouse.ie – 062-61075

Rockville House B&B – www.rockville.tripcombined.com – 062-61760

Caravan & Camping:

O’Briens Holiday Lodge & Camping Park – www.cashel-lodge.com – 062 61003

Cahir

In Cahir town:

Cahir House Hotel – cahirhousehotel.ie –  052 744 3000

Carigeen Castle B&B – carrigeencastle.com – 052 744 1370

Tinsley House – www.tinsleyhouse.com – 052 744 1947

Outside Cahir town:

Hollymount House – hollymounthouse.ie – 052 744 2888

Kilcommon Cross – Annaswood B&B – https://bit.ly/3xReyGt – 086 825 3236

Kilcoran Lodge Hotel – kilcoranlodge.net – 052 744 1288

Clonmel – 15/20 minutes away

Talbot Hotel – www.talbothotelclonmel.ie – 052 618 8700

Hotel Minella – www.hotelminella.com – 052 618 0088

Mitchelstown – 20 minutes away

Firgrove Hotel – www.firgrovehotel.com – 025 24111 

Caravan & Camping:

The Apple Farm – www.theapplefarm.com – 052 744 1459

St. Declan's Way - Stage 2

Ardfinnan

1 Bed Apartment – AirBnB Listing

Goatenbridge

Annemarie Slavin – 086 812 1359 – annieslav@gmail.com

Maura’s Place – 086 878 0891 – maura.kiely@outlook.com

Tarside Cottage – Facebook – 086 416 2484 – dakotalam13@gmail.com

Close to Goatenbridge:

Newcastle/Ballymacarbry – 10/15 minutes away

Glasha Farmhouse – www.glashafarmhouse.com – 052 613 6108

Mountainview Self Catering – AirBnB Listing – 087 138 3151

Suir Valley Cottage – AirBnB Listing – 087 233 3356

Clogheen – 15 minutes away

Knockmealdowns from Lady's Abbey

Bohernagore – AirB&B Listing

The Hermitage House – AirBnB  – 087 640 7348

The Log Cabin – AirB&B Listing

Clonmel – 30 minutes away

Talbot Hotel – www.talbothotelclonmel.ie – 052 618 8700

Hotel Minella – www.hotelminella.com – 052 618 0088.

Caravan & Camping:

Parson’s Green Caravan & Camping – www.clogheen.com – 052 746 5290

Nire Valley Eco Camp – www.nirevalleyecocamp.com – 087 0618879

Nire Valley Glamping – www.nirevalleyglamping.com – 083 8018774

_____

Goatenbridge to Lismore via Mount Melleray

St. Declan's Way - Stage 3

Note: This stage crosses the Knockmealdown Mountains and will require a modicum of fitness. It is also longer than 20km (almost 30km). All the other stages are relatively flat and shorter than this. Therefore, you may wish to split it into two: Goatenbridge to Mount Melleray (18km) and Mount Melleray to Lismore (12km).

Mount Melleray

There is currently no accommodation available in Mount Melleray. Cappoquin is the closest town (see below).

Lismore

Ballyrafter House Hotel – ballyrafterhouse.com – 058 54002

Fort William Estate – www.fortwilliamfishing.ie – 058-54251

St. Mary’s Abbey, Glencairn – www.glencairnabbey.org – 058-56168

Glencairn B&B & Self Catering – 058 54139

Lismore Castle – www.lismorecastle.com – 058 54424

Bródán B&B (Hilda Merrigan) – 5 Rooms (can accommodate up to 13) – Pick up and packed lunch if required – 089 428 1002.

Daisy Cottage, Chapel Street – AirBnB Listing – Pick up and packed lunch if required – 087 737 9484

Tallow – 20 minutes away

Clancy’s Guesthouse – www.clancysguesthouse.ie – 058 56128 (7 bedrooms)

Lismore to Aglish via Cappoquin

St. Declan's Way - Stage 4

Cappoquin

The Toby Jug – thetobyjug.ie@gmail.com – 058-52333

Outside the town:

Dromana House – www.dromanahouse.com – 024-96144

Richmond House – richmondhouse.net – 058 54278

Salterbridge Gate Lodge – www.irishlandmark.com – 01-6704733

Villierstown

Blackwater Eco Pods – www.blackwaterecotours.ie – 024 86491

Wing of Old School House – https://bit.ly/3jINhBM – 087 6111 828 (1km from route, client pick-up & drop off available)

Close to Aglish 

1 Bed Cottage – AirBnB Listing – 087 703 7967

Coolcormac Stud B&B – coolcormack-stud-bb.business.site – 087 206 8392 (offers drop-off and pick-up for guests)

Otter Cottage – sleeps 5 – 087 243 9047 – AirBnB Listing

The Riverbank apartment- sleeps 2 – 087 243 9047 – AirBnB Listing

Aglish to Ardmore 

St. Declan's Way - Stage 5

Lickey Valley (between Aglish and Ardmore)

Stepping Stones – Luxury Pod – 087 6821845 – teresa.malone0@gmail.com

Clashmore

Caitlin’s Cottage (sleeps 4) – 086 355 4902 – claddaghcottages.ie

The Byre at CoCo’s Farm (sleeps 4) – 086 600 8937 – AirBnB

Healing Tree Retreats (sleeps 3) – 087 228 2490 – PatrickDillane.com

Rose Cottage, D’Loughtane (sleeps 4) – 087 922 5715 – Website

Ardmore

Applehouse Apartment – https://bit.ly/3xMAYJ2 – 087 744 9705

Ardmore BnB –ardmorebedandbreakfast.ie – 085 858 6103

Ardmore Holiday Homes – www.ardmoreholidayhomes.com

Cliff House Hotel – cliffhousehotel.ie – 024 87800

Duncrone Bed & Breakfast – 024 94860

Fountain House – 024 94256

Newtown Farm Country House – www.newtownfarm.com – 024 94143

Round Tower Hotel – www.roundtowerhotel.ie – 024 94494

Caravan & Camping:

Ardmore Glamping Pods – ardmoreglampingpods.ie – 024 87600

Ardmore Seaview Motorhome Park – 087 709 3346

Beach Caravan Park – 024 94938

Curragh Caravan Site – 087 245 2549

Powers Caravan Park – 087 223 0264

Youghal, just across the bay from Ardmore (15 minute drive)

Abbey View B&B – https://bit.ly/35YI9lk – 024 92298

Ahernes – www.ahernes.net – 024 92424

Avonmore House B&B – avonmorehouse.com – 024 92617

Old Imperial Hotel – www.theoldimperialhotel.com – 024 92435

Summerfield Lodge B&B – www.summerfieldlodgeyoughal.ie – 087 285 4971

Walter Raleigh Hotel – walterraleighhotel.com – 024 92011

Dungarvan – 20km north of Ardmore (20 minute drive)

Lawlors Hotel – www.lawlorshotel.com – 058 41000

Park Hotel – www.parkhoteldungarvan.com – 058 42899

Seaview House – www.seaviewdungarvan.com – 058 41583 – self-catering for groups

Tannery Town House – tannery.ie – 058 45420

Tallow – 8km (8 minute’s drive) south-west of Lismore, 28km (27 minute’s drive) west of Aglish & 30km (25 minute’s drive) north-west of Ardmore.  

Clancy’s Bar & Guesthouse – www.clancysguesthouse.ie – 058 56128

Comments are closed.